top of page

A True Language Exchange In Panama


My choice to relocate to Panama was a relatively easy one. I spent 3 months in 2014 exploring the country to determine if Panama would be a viable option for my aged mother and for me. Knowing that I could adjust to almost anything within reason, I knew that the similarities between Panama and our Caribbean home would be challenging yet enjoyable. My Spanish skills were somewhat limited although I had taken many years of Spanish in the states. Knowing that grasping a foreign language had never come easy for me, I decided to remove the pressure of mastering Español and focus on enjoying the experience. For many, a language exchange is the best way to actually learn and use their new language.


My first attempt with creating a language exchange was short lived. The group was essentially comprised of Americans at different Spanish levels coming together to practice and SUPPOSEDLY help each other learn and practice Spanish. Although this scenario could work, it was not what I envisioned or wanted. There are many reasons for moving to a foreign country and many different ways to embrace the overall experience. For me, learning Spanish in Panama with Americans was less than ideal.


The overall idea for my language exchange is to have native speakers of one language help others by simply communicating on a regular basis. The focus is not to always correct mistakes and strive for perfection, but to converse to be understood. The result has been remarkable! We meet 3 times weekly in a structured environment and talk. We play games, ask and answer questions, share cultural aspects and always manage to have fun. The hesitation of those who have very basic skills is soon washed away. The environment is deliberately welcoming and encouraging and everyone truly helps each other.. Not a new concept...but a great one.



So, wherever you are, if you want an enjoyable way to improve your language skills, get out and meet the locals. Meet just to talk. Plan to progress at your own rate and enjoy. If you are in Chiriqui, Panama and are interested in conversing with locals, contact us for information. We welcome visitors and encourage serious minded folks to join us.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page