top of page

Expat Interview with S. Acquah-Stokes

Understanding that you are nearing the end of your 6 month stay in Panama, LTE would like to ask you about your experience and share it with others considering Panama as their relocation choice. Thank you for participating in this interview and allowing us to share it with others via our website.

Why did you choose Panama? Why Chiriqui?

I wanted/needed a change and a family member suggested that I look into Panama. Further I wanted to live in a small quiet area. After some research, David seemed to offer what I was looking for.

Was Panama what you expected? Explain.

In some ways, yes. I didn't have too many expectations. I wanted to be open to whatever it had to offer.

Should you choose to retire in Panama, what would be easy adjustments for you?

Transportation. Since I don't have a car, taxis are pretty much my mode of transportation. Taxis are so plentiful and once you connect with a few drivers, you can call and they will gladly provide the services needed.

Living here full time, what would be difficult for you too get accustomed to?

Timeliness, or lack thereof. And possibly the heat and humidity, although I haven't had a problem adjusting.

What would you recommend to others considering a relocation to Panama?

To visit first for at least 3-6 months before moving here permanently. Learn some basic Spanish and be open to the culture.

Should you decide to move to Panama, would you choose to bring your furniture and all personal belongings? Explain

I have spoken with numerous people and questioned the pros and cons of bringing (large or small) personal items e.g. furniture, small appliances, etc. and of course the answers vary. However, I think I would opt NOT to bring any large items. Instead purchase any furniture etc needed here in David. Not just the cost associated with the shipping, but retrieving the items and in what condition would they be? Plus, purchasing items here would be a benefit to the country.

Did you have any experience with local healthcare? If yes, describe and rate your experience.

Unfortunately, a family member required medical care shortly after arriving here for a visit. An ambulance was called and at my direction they were transported to the Centro Medico Mae Lewis facility. The service was very good! I was pleased, however, without a Spanish speaking person with me, it would have been more difficult to communicate with the staff. We were also pleasantly surprised at the cost for the services rendered.

Based on your experience, what would you warn others against should they choose Panama?

Not sure if it would be considered a warning, but I would tell them to always remember this is Latin America and not the United States.

Can you share about your neighborhood and living arrangements?

I chose a fully furnished (including a washer and dryer) three bedroom, two bath house fully air conditioned with an alarm, in a middle class area next to a park. It's a very quiet neighborhood, although I do see people outside exercising and children playing from time to time.

As a single female venturing out on my own at times, it is important that I feel safe in my surroundings.

In your opinion, who should not consider moving to Panama?

Anyone who is not able or willing to embrace change

How would you describe the overall safety in Panama?

I have felt comfortable/safe since being here. I exhibit the same or similar precautions here as I do when I'm in the States.

I have met some really nice and thoughtful people, locals and expats. They took me under their wings for the most part and were always available to assist when needed. They provided me with several "do's and don'ts" from their perspective. This information also helped me to feel safe. I appreciate their kindness. They helped to make my stay here very positive.

Can you describe the cost of living in Chiriqui?

I rented a furnished house (see #8 for more detail) with most of the utilities included. I think for what I have, the price was fair. A bonus to renting this house is my landlady. She has been fantastic!! No other household expenses were ever needed from me. She made sure I was comfortable and even transported me to different stores to help me get settled.

I have found that some foods and other items are more expensive here. Of course the items that are imported top the list. I purchase most of my fruits and veggies from the local stands on the street which are at a bargain.

What service(s) of Local Travel Excursions did you use? How would you rate the overall service you received?

I've use them twice. Once in 2016 when a friend and I came for a three week visit and then again in early 2017 when I came for six months. Both times worked out well. Communication is extremely important to me and there was no shortish in that area. I communicated regularly before arriving to assure that my goals would be met during my stay.

Karen, the owner, located several homes for me to see that met my specifications. Transportation was included, and a tour of the city and important general information was shared throughout the time we were together. During my time here she has been in touch to make sure things were going well. Overall the services were very good and I would recommend her to anyone planning on visiting and/or moving here.

Is there anything you would change about your overall Panama experience?

I would have connected with my church earlier. It's been really positive and I've met some really nice local people including an order of nuns and priest.

Any last recommendations?

Do your research before coming. Although your experience will be different than others, (since we all have different needs, wants, and expectations) I found that reading the blogs and talking to people online once I arrived, really helped me to get acclimated.

Do you speak Spanish? If no, describe your experience with the language barrier.

Very little (muy poco). My "best friend" has been the google translator! I used it constantly. It was extremely helpful. I was comfortable with a few words and phrases but needed more to communicate effectively. I also found that Panamanians speak very fast. So a phrase and word I learned early was "Ve mas despacio and lento". Lol

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page